Weekly Comics – How to Tick Off a Dragon

Oh yeah!  Check it out it’s the second installment of my Weekly Comics series!  This time I’ve got an awesome comic that’s been stewing in my head for nearly a year now, its first iteration done on a piece of receipt paper at my horrible restaurant job.  It’s great to finally get it out there for world to see.

How to Tick Off a Dragon

The Creative Process
This comic took forever to thumbnail.  I could not figure out what I wanted to do for my first panel.  Initially I had imagined a squire stumbling upon a bunch of knights getting torn to pieces by this dragon here, but I just couldn’t make it work.  Again, I probably redrew the thumbnails 6 times or so, and that first panel at least a dozen times.  Finally I just broke down and drew something to set the scene, a dragon flambéing some knights.

What I Like
I really like how the first panel turned out, and I think I drew the dragon pretty darn consistently up until the very last panel.  I love the expression of my timid knight in the third panel and the way the dragon looks in the fourth and fifth panels.  I also like how the speech bubble breaks the panel borders at the end.  Overall I think I did a fine job with the pacing and created something that’s both readable and kinda funny.  To me at least.  Heh.

What I Wish I Did Differently
The last panel with the dragon… Gah I wish i drew that differently.  I wish I had either gotten rid of the flames or showed more of his face or something!  It just looks weird as is.  Also I wish I had utilized the space on the page more… efficiently.  I would have made the panels bigger and maybe moved the title somewhere else.  I would aslo have made the title cooler, maybe using fancy medieval style lettering.  Lastly, I probably would have made the dragon more dragon-y.  Maybe giving it wings or making it look less like a dinosaur.  I dunno.

Final Thoughts
Honestly I think this is much much better than my first comic.  I utilize the majority of the space on the page and the story has a clear beginning, middle, and end.  I think. I draw things a bit more consistently, and… yeah, I think it’s pretty ok.  I tstill need to improve my materials I think, and not use a ballpoint pen for inking.

Let me know what you think!  What do I need to work on?  Help me help myself team!

Leave a Reply

