Weekly Want List – December 2nd, 2010

Ian Churchill's Marineman #1

Gosh 2010 is almost gone!  I can hardly believe it.  I hope everyone enjoyed their Thanksgiving, I know I did.  Unfortunately for us comics lovers though, the holiday pushes back our precious printed cocaine one day and new comics come out on Thursday this week.  Oh the humanity!  I’m sure I’ll be able to hold out though.  I’m strong.

Hopefully I’ll have time to enjoy my comics.  What with this grad school application looming night, December 15th, I’ve just been writing and re-writing everything I need to turn in.  A personal statement for the grad program, a personal statement and an academic statement for the online university application, and a credible research paper on comics… whew!

I’ll just have to find time to enjoy them.  It’ll be my little treat to myself.  Viva la new comics!

IDW
Strange Science Fantasy #6 – $3.99 – Hopefully we jump back into the out of this world storytelling we’ve seen before.  I wasn’t too excited at the end of #5 but I’m waiting to be pleasantly surprised.  Plus, with Paul Pope backups
you can’t go wrong.

Image Comics
Marineman #1 – $3.99 – Oh man!  I am so pumped for this series!  Ian Churchill was one of my favorite artists back during the Onslaught epic 15 years ago but I thought his style got a little stiff later.  I was astonished at his style change in his Hulk work and this new book looks very cartoony.  Plus it’s a comic about an underwater hero!  I wrote about this sort of thing recently.  Make me proud Ian!

Marvel Comics
Chaos War: God Squad #1 – $3.99 – I had a blast following the wicked wanderings of the last God Squad during the Skrull Invasion.  I don’t see why this time it should be any less fun.  Sign me up.

Daredevil #512 – $2.99 – It’s still $3 and it’s still a fun ride.  I’m not quite sure I’m enjoying this book as much as I’m enjoying the exposure Dakota North is getting but either way I’m buying it.

Shadowland #5 – $3.99 – I’m excited for this to be over, not because it’s a terrible event (it’s not great but that’s besides the point) but because I’m ready to have Daredevil dealing with the EPIC fallout from his stint with the Hand.  Shit is about to get real folks.

She-Hulks #2 – $2.99 – I love big strong women.  Ryan Stegman is drawing the She-Hulks.  He lives in Michigan.  I interviewed him.  We’re tight… Ok so that last bit is a lie but this book is gonna be fun and I saw all the pencils for this ish and believe me, suhweet!

I think that’s about it for comics this week.  Luckily it’s a cheap week, around $23, but like I said last week, you never know.

PEACE!

Leave a Reply

