Marvel vs. Capcom 3 Showdown Spotlights on Marvel.com

The New Age of Heroes!

As some of you guys may or may not know, I’m a freelance writer for Marvel.com, and a while back I pitched a fun little series based on  what we did when MvC2 hit X-Box Live and the PSN two summers ago.  Simple formula: A Marvel vs. a Capcom and the fans decide who wins.

What’s great is you get different communities battling it out over who’s better: fighting game fanatics, comic book geeks who haven’t ever touched a fighter, people well versed in the two (like moi), and people who realize that theory fighting is probably an enormous waste of time…

Would M.O.D.O.K. beat Tron Bonne?  I have no freaking clue, my guess is that the freakishly large evil floating head would mop the floor with the little cutie but there you go, that’s my opinion.  It’s interesting to see which side fans will take on the matter: will they refer to actual gameplay or base their opinions on power levels and skill sets?  And because things like this build people’s agro so quickly, the comment sections can get awesomely heated and hilarious.

Haggar vs. Hulk MvC3 Showdown Spotlight: Hulk vs. Haggar

And frankly, that’s exactly what I had in mind when I pitched this.  Initially I had hoped to have teams of hero characters against one major villain but the one vs. one format works so much better (and we already had a template) so that’s how we rocked it.  But truly and honestly, my main desire was to get the official move list with notation from Capcom.  That way I could give the community something first, as well as boost Marvel’s site traffic.  In this business you gotta make sure that what you’re doing isn’t just for a limited audience and that it’ll be an asset to the site you’re writing for.

Iron Man vs. RyuMvC3 Showdown Spotlight: Iron Man vs. Ryu

I think after the Hulk vs. Haggar post hit the web I got the O.K. from Capcom and my bosses at Marvel for inclusion of a move list and they sent me a digital copy of the X-Box 360 instruction booklet which contains a partial move list.  What you see now, on the MvC3 official site and MvC3 Facebook page, and subsequently in these Showdown articles is cut and pasted from the booklet.  I thought Marvel, but more specifically me, would be the place to premiere the official move list but I think a day later, before I got the chance to implement it in the stories, Capcom had already put them up on their sites.  Understandable obviously, but I wanted to be first!

Super-Skrull vs. Viewtiful Joe
MvC3 Showdown: Super-Skrull vs. Viewtiful Joe

I just wanted to aggregate the fruit of my labors, thus far, in one spot and put the links to the different pages here.  All of these banners were created by the amazingly talented Harry Go and editing props go to Ryan Penagos.  Unfortunately he’s not as versed in Capcom fighting lore as I am and didn’t catch my misspelled “Ansatsuken” in the Iron Man vs. Ryu post or the misspelled “Shun Goku Satsu” in the Wolverine vs. Akuma matchup, but the guy has so much on his plate how could I expect him to?  I gotta spell check my crazy fighting game moves/styles better.  C’est la vie.  Let me know what you think of everything guys and gals!

M.O.D.O.K. vs. Tron Bonne MvC3 Showdown: M.O.D.O.K. vs. Tron Bonne

Wolverine vs. Akuma
MvC3 Showdown Spotlight: Wolverine vs. Akuma

6 thoughts on “Marvel vs. Capcom 3 Showdown Spotlights on Marvel.com”

  1. Lol, the stuff I have been seeing in these spotlights have been quite hilarious. But so far, nothing too surprising. Other than the Akuma vs Wolverine showdown, most of these have been pretty one-sided.

    P.S. It appears that a lot of people think the “little cutie”would wipe the floor with the “freakishly large evil floating head” and so far, I would have to agree 😄

    1. I think that’s the name of the game really, the one sided-ness, but with regards to M.O.D.O.K. vs. Tron Bonne… NO! I refuse to get involved! I REFUSE! It’s a trap and no one wins 😛

  2. I like this character showdown in Marvel site, but I have to agree that the game itself is pretty one sided, with Marvel being the favorite. From Capcom some guys like Dante, Ammy, Wesker, and maybe Zero (among another bunch) can really stand a full fight with Marvel guys.

Leave a Reply

