Savage Land Unlimited Highlights: Needs more Chtylok

Chtylok Love in Super Hero Squad!

I have a fever, and the only prescription is more Chytlok.  This week for my Marvel.com Unlimited Highlights we covered the Savage Land, which Skaar, the son of the Incredible Huk, will be conquering come April.

The Savage Land is a prehistoric paradise populated by creatures, flora, and fauna that have gone extinct on the surface world.  It exists as the missing link between the present and the past.  Did I mention that dinosaurs roam the wilds of this incredible ecosystem?

It’s true!  The place has dinosaurs, cave men, mastodons, you name it, it’s there.  However during this week’s Unlimited Highlights, which you can check out here, I was surprised to find that probably the most astounding creature of the Savage Land was left woefully out: Chytlok!  From the unholy union of Todd Dezago and Mike Wieringo’s meat preferences comes a creature most foul, a 25-foot tall half chicken half cow monstrosity that can go toe-to-toe with the Hulk!  Look at this thing, how can you not love it?

Chtylok!!!

A lot of my love for this freakish poultry/beef fusion dance conglomeration springs from pure nostalgia.  Before my sixteenth birthday I rarely got comics and the books that I did get my hands on I read cover to cover, over and over ’til they fell apart.  I owned the first appearance of the Chtylok in The Sensational Spider-Man #13 all the way back in 1997.  The plot isn’t important, though from what I remember it’s ridiculously awesome (If Stegron’s in it, what do you expect?), but just the sheer ridiculosity of Chtylok rings true in my memory.

It’s a 25-foot tall and half chicken, half cow, a great example of how much fun writers and artists can have with the Savage Land.  It’s a land of infinite possibilities, created by aliens, filled with extinct or unheard of creatures from Earth’s past, and ready to be exploited by creators everywhere.  I don’t know how much else I can say about this crazy chicken creature, it was only in two issues, except I hope that eventually someone brings back the Chtylok because honestly, it was so much fun to read!  Please Marvel writers, bring me some more Chtylok!

Leave a Reply

