Weekly Want List – June 22th, 2011

Choker #6 by the Bens

Alright, so what the heck is coming out this week?

Image Comics
Choker #6 – I have nothing but good things to say about this series.  I adore Ben McCool and Ben Templesmith and not only because my name is also Ben.  Actually, that might be a big part of it.  I met these guys at Bergen Street Comics in Brooklyn while I was living in NYC and got them to sign issue 1 for me. Gotta support the Bens!

Guarding the Globe #5 – I’m willing to follow this one to the end of it’s initial run but if I’ll keep buying after that I can’t say.  I’ve enjoyed it so far and I really like the blindfolded ninja guy, but I don’t know if I’ve enjoyed it enough.  Know what I mean?

Marvel Comics
Black Panther: The Man Without Fear #520 – I can’t believe that Kraven and the Black Panther haven’t met before this!  Again, probably in my top 3 favorite series coming out from Marvel right now.  Digging T’Challa and Liss and Bradstreet are bringing everything they’ve got to the book.  It shows.

Incredible Hulks #631 – What can I say?  I’m a fan of Pelletier’s Hulk stuff.  It reminds me of some of Dale Keown’s work and that’s a compliment!  Hulk vs. Wishing Well?  I’ve got a feeling that this isn’t going to have that nice and tidy happy ending we all want.

Iron Man 2.0 #6 – I could honestly care less about Jim Rhodes and the rest of the mechanized heroes of the Marvel U but team him up with the Immortal Weapons and Danny Rand and I’m all eyes/ears.  Can’t wait to see what happens next because issue 1 was a flipping doozy!

Vertigo
Fables #106 – I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: Fables is the most consistent comic hitting store shelves.  Every page is pure gold.  Get off your butt and start reading!

4 thoughts on “Weekly Want List – June 22th, 2011”

  1. MON/FEB 27/2012 — Hi there! I noticed that you have a picture of “Choker” #6 at the top of this page of your wordpress site. I’ve been wanting to buy that comic book for a long time, I have the previous five but not the last one. Do you know something I don’t? Were you able to get a copy of it somehow? Please don’t hold back! Share what you know & please tell me where you got yours from, THANKS! Matthew

    1. Haha, sorry to burst your bubble dude but that was from my Weekly Want List where I would talk in brief about the comics I was hoping to buy that coming Wednesday. I think they had solicited Choker #6 as hitting stores that week but it never came out. I don’t own it man, sorry, but you’re not the only one waiting for it.

      1. Okay then, that’s not a big deal. I should have known you were posting something regarding the issue before it came out, and then of course it never got released… yet! Hopefully we’ll be able to get that final issue soon. I’m going to write a quick email to Image Comics right now & see what they have to say about the potential release date for “Choker” #6. Thanks anyway! 🙂

Leave a Reply

