Weekly Want List – July 13th, 2011

Hellboy vs. Dragon!

Gotta say with grad school looming nigh over the horizon I’m getting more and more stressed out.  Am I going to make the cut?  Am I Masters program material?  Where am I going to live?  What am I going to eat?

All these questions are buzzing around inside my head while I’m working 40-50 hours a week at 3 different jobs.

That aside, I’m still spending a decent chunk of cash on comics every week.  They’re my escape, though Bayonetta has recently sunk its claws into me.  Hard mode.  Love my dual shotguns.  But what funny books hit store shelves this week?  Let’s take a look!

Dark Horse Comics
B.P.R.D.: Hell on Earth Monsters #1 – Sometimes I worry about my purchasing habits.  If it’s new and it says B.P.R.D. then I’m going to buy it, regardless of what it is.

Hellboy: The Fury #2 – C’mon, Hellboy’s punching a dragon on the cover!  I gotta say that I’ve been enjoying this series and it’s come so far from Hellboy’s humble beginnings.  My only question?  When are we gonna see some aliens?

John, why you so sad?

DC Comics
Green Lantern #67 – To be honest I’m just waiting for a chance to drop this book.  I don’t like Hal so whenever it goes back to him just solo adventuring, boom done.  However this book has been great with all the other Lanterns hanging out and I’m very curious where this is all going.  I’m mean crud, Mogo’s gone.  What’s next?

Green Lantern Corps #61 – Hoo raa now this is my shit!  Really nothing else to say about this book besides it’s a great read.

Image Comics
Gladstone’s School for World Conquerors #3 – Cute and cuddly super villains learn the ropes for a life lived on the wrong side of the law.  It’s light reading and fun to boot.

Guarding the Globe #5 – I’m curious as to where this book is going.  It’s only a mini so will the Guardians of the Globe again be relegated to a supporting role in the Invincible books?  Every member’s got a lot of personality so it’d be a shame to see them all disappear but eh, not too sad.

The American Panther

Marvel Comics
Black Panther: The Man Without Fear #521 – The American Panther?  What the deuce?  I’m too lazy to see if it’s the same creative team writing and penciling but you can bet that if it’s of the same caliber as recent issues I’ll be picking this one up.

FF #6 – I love Black Bolt.  I’m not sure if I’ll purchase this ish, but I’m definitely going to read it in store if nothing else.  Hail to the king baby.

Incredible Hulks #632 – I don’t know if I’d call Greg Pak’s Hulk run “legendary” yet Marvel solicits.  However with Paul Pelletier on the pencils I’m getting it.  He draws the Hulk but good and his ladies are purty.  Woot!

X-Men: Schism #1 – I don’t know what’s going on here but if it’s supposed to be the event of the decade (we’re only a year into the decade though…) how can I not read this?  Go Cyclops!

Miscellaneous
RASL #11 –  One of the few books that just straight does not come out near enough.  Quarterly?  I’m dying here Mr. Smith!

Leave a Reply

