Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 Character Primer – Rocket Raccoon

You don’t know who Rocket Raccoon is?  Seriously?  You’re such a n00b.  Actually no, you’re not because Rocket is an incredibly obscure cosmic Marvel character, that is unless you read Guardians of the Galaxy.  If you don’t and you’re still painfully unaware of this anthropomorphic space vermin’s existence read on; you’re definitely not alone.

Until recently, say 3-4 years ago, Rocket hadn’t been in much of anything since the 80’s when Mike Mignola (of Hellboy fame) was pencilling the critter in his 4 issue mini.  Now he’s a central member of the Guardians of the Galaxy and  a playable character in Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3.  Not too shabby Mr. Raccoon.

For those of you uninitiated in Marvel cosmic lore Rocket was originally a glorified orderly on Halfworld, a planet that functioned as an insane asylum in the Keystone Quadrant.  Rocket, along with his first mate Wal Rus, took care of the “Loonies” on the fertile side of the planet while the robots who’d originally served as the patient’s wardens built the inmate’s toys on the other half.

A trade war erupted between the two largest toy manufacturers, Judson Jakes and the serpent Lord Dyvyne, both were aiming for a monopoly, and stuff hit the fan.  In the end Rocket and his friends emerge victorious, curing the Loonies, deposing Dyvyne and Jakes, and even escaping from Halfworld through the previously unassailable Galacian Wall.

The anthropomorphised animal's last stand!

Honestly, no explanation can do this series justice; it’s that bizarre, but if you’re interested you should definitely check it out, if only to get a taste of Mignola’s mainstream pencils before his highly stylized Hellboy stuff. I’ve included links to the mini-series issues below from Marvel Digital Comics Unlimited.  For those of you who want to cash in your MDCU subscription you got with the MvC3 Collector’s Edition, you should totally give it a shot.

Rocket Raccoon #1
Rocket Raccoon #2
Rocket Raccoon #3
Rocket Raccoon #4







Now Rocket’s blasting bad guys as the unofficial co-leader of the Guardians of the Galaxy and he’s not afraid to pull out the big guns.  I’ve heard rumblings around the interwebs that people are thinking he might play something like Cable, with a reliance on beam specials and hypers.  I’m of a like opinion, though to a lesser degree, but before we get into that, what’s Rocket capable of?

Firstly, he’s a raccoon.  A genetically modified raccoon, but a raccoon all the same.  He’s the got the strength, speed, agility, and reflexes of a raccoon his size.  His sense of smell and hearing are far more acute than humans but physically Rocket’s not too much of a threat.  One well placed punt and he’s down for the count, but you wouldn’t know it given his scrappy demeanor.

Nope, not afraid of some blood on his gloves.

While he may not be able to bench press the bar he more than makes up for it in other ways.  He’s a master strategist and tactician and well versed in all sorts of weaponized violence.  Whether it’s a bomb or a blaster, in Rocket’s hands it’s especially deadly.

Rocket doing what he does best.
Rocket doing what he does best.

So how might he play?  I, like a few other folks, think he’ll be a very heavy projectile based character, much like Arthur.  Factor in his diminutive vertical capacity and he’ll be a perfect fit for Team Can’t Touch This: any combination of Amaterasu, Arthur, Joe, and Rocket.  I’m guessing he’ll have super short strikes for normals like Joe but hopefully Capcom will give him a quick ground dash and an 8-way air dash to get in close and apply pressure if needed.  Flight maybe?  I also hope they equip him with either a jet pack or rocket boots;  I mean they do call him “Rocket” for a reason.

When I said projectile heavy I do mean projectile heavy.  He’s probably one of the few characters that honestly doesn’t have the physical capacity to handle himself in a fight.  Oh wait… Tron, M.O.D.O.K., never mind.  He’s much more comfortable with guns in his paws and fighting in zero gravity means he gets to play with some massive death-dealing machinery.

That gun's definitely bigger than he is. Like way bigger.

Personally I think calling Rocket a cute and fuzzy Cable without seeing how he plays is silly, but I suppose the comparison can be drawn.  I think he’ll have an awesome projectile game with quick dashes to help him start combos.  He’ll be a zoner for the most part, like Arthur or Chris, bringing the pain from a distance and you’ll need to get exceptionally close to do damage with his tiny raccoon limbs.  I think he’ll be a strange mix between Joe, Arthur, and Chris.  Does that make sense?

I want to see him wielding a ton of different futuristic-looking guns bigger than he is while flying all over the screen raining deadly light down on his enemies.  I hope he has an 8-way air dash and a rocket pack/skates.  I hope he becomes #1 on people’s Most Annoying Character lists.  I hope he’s viable because I think he could be tons of fun to play.

Regardless, I hope this gave you guys a little info on good ol’ Rocket Raccoon.  If you’re craving more Marvel madness let me know in the comments and if you’d like me to do one of these for Doctor Strange I’d be more than happy to oblige, though I figured people knew enough about Marvel’s magical mystic.  I don’t want to be redundant.  Should I add more Marvel history or just stick to the pertinent fighting game stuff?  Also let me know if you’d like me to analyze the gameplay videos of the newly revealed characters like I did for MvC3.  I’d like to do one for Nemesis this week.  He looks so boss.

If you’d like to destroy me online in MvC3 you can friend me on X Box: iFight4food and you can follow me on Twitter at kingofbreaker if you so choose.  Until next time, this is Sumo signing out!

30 thoughts on “Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3 Character Primer – Rocket Raccoon”

  1. I’m calling it right now: BB Hood. Down to having a super that has him, Drax, Adam Warlock, maybe Captain Universe and Groot all blasting the ever living christ out of the opponent.

    1. You know I was thinking the same thing about Iron Fist. Having all the Immortal Weapons jump in and pound on the opposing fighter would be amazing but it seems like MvC3 really tends to stay away from character’s making cameos in game.

      1. Wasn’t one of the reasons Frank West wasn’t in vanilla MvC3 is because of the zombies in his Hypers or something creating lag online? I think any extra models would cause more problems than in MvC2 (even though Hawkeye’s level 3 has Ant Man in it).

  2. Once again, another awesome primer. Rocket’s once of my favorite Marvel characters, if not my favorite and I’m absolutely ecstatic to see him in this game. I think it’d be great if you did one for Doctor Strange. I don’t think it’s redundant at all. No matter what characters are out there, there will always be someone who doesn’t know about them. If you want to analyze the videos, that be cool too. It’s always good to hear people’s opinions on how these characters play.

    TLDR: Do it all! lol 😀

  3. Excellent right up. I think you should do one for Dr. Strange, since we saw some of his moves. I personally would like to know what the “Rings of Hodum” and “The Anicent One” is? Also didn’t he coin himself “The Sorcerer Supreme”? Or am I thinking Hank Pym “Scientist Supreme”? Anyway whatever you choose looking forward to the next write up. Keep up the good work!

    1. The Ancient One was Strange’s teacher while he was learning the mystic arts. He is, or was Earth’s Sorcerer Supreme, then traded his title to Brother Voodoo who then bit it hard and now Steve’s really the only magical being worth his salt on Earth… Bad news if Dormammu shows up again. Maybe I will get into this a little bit… Thanks for the comment my friend!

      1. Yeah maybe I missed something but was there ever really any pay off to the whole “Brother Voodoo is now Sorceror Supreme” concept? Because I can’t think of any.

        And as for his death, that’s Bendis’ fault for doing this to every character that isn’t someone he likes. I am convinced at this point that hack is too completely biased to be writing anything for the company now.

    2. Just to chime in, Strange didn’t coin “Sorcerer Supreme” it was inherited from the Ancient One. Iirc, Hank’s “Scientist Supreme” title is based on Strange’s.

      1. My memory on this is a bit hazy, but there was a competition to become Sorcerer Supreme, several sorcerers competed for the title and Strange came out on top. Doom came in second, and Strange was forced to grant a favor or request to the runner up, which was entering Hell to find Doom’s mother’s soul.

  4. excellent write up. i never knew mike mignola pencilled him in the 80. this is why this article is useful. i think you should do a write up of dr strange. the only thing i know about him is that he does battle with shuma gorath in marvel premiere #10 and strange sent him back to the chaos dimension. i know coz i own it 😀

  5. I really think you should do one on Nova next. I’m personally a huge fan but most people don’t seem to be aware of how awesome he is.

  6. I really enjoy these even though I’m already well versed on everyone. It’s great to have someone speculating on these characters who actually knows what he’s talking about for once. Definitely keep the history in, and if you feel up to it I think you should do a similar job for the Capcom characters as well.

  7. I hope you do Nova next. Not a lot of people know him, but he’s a great character and I’d love to know what you think he’ll play like.

  8. Awesome. This is a GREAT job, thanks to you now I know who is this racoon and what I can expect from him.

    A review of Strange would be great too, but I think no much people knows who is Nova ( I didnt know anything about him before the UMvC3 leak) so if you can talk a bit about him would be cool too.

    Again, thanks :3

  9. I like the marvel background history. More of that please. Please do the rest of the cast. Speculating on what each character plays like is too much theory fighting for my tastes.

  10. Yes! Please do make more of these even if the character in question is well known. I get SOOOOO sick of people saying Hawkeye is a bad choice because he’s an ad for the Avenger’s movie. (CoughAngryJoeCoughCough)

    1. LOL Angry Joe thinks like he knows what he’s talking about when he reviews fighting games. That dude should just stick to reviewing shovel ware and PC games.

  11. Oh and I said this in the Iron Fist Primer but you could use a Dr. Strange Primer to talk about the deities connected to Strange’s magic like Vishanti and Agamotto. (Since I tend to draw a blank when it comes to them and their history)

    1. As does the majority of comic book fandom. We’re seeing a little more of Agamotto now, recent non-Fear Itself New Avengers stuff, and I know the Vishanti are a bunch of gods? Yesss… or no… It’s too late and I need sleep but I’m going to be doing a Nemesis thing first before I write up more character primers. He just gets me so darn geeked!

Leave a Reply

